Final Thoughts

So, my Social Media and Emerging Technologies course has already come to an end. I cannot believe how fast this semester has gone, how many new people I’ve met, and how much I’ve learned. Going into this course, I knew social media was the norm today, and how it could benefit a business. Now that I’ve taken SMET, I realize that there’s so much more to social media.

Honestly, going into SMET, I questioned why I even had to take this course. I never believed I was tech savvy, or social media savvy. Within the second week of class, I realized that my social media skills were exemplary. I didn’t think I was going to learn much in this class simply because I use Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram and so many other online communities on the daily. I was truly wrong on that one;; I learned a lot more then what I anticipated for.  I learned how businesses are using social media today, how to appropriately use social media, and some new programs too. The one thing I will always remember from this course is the digital footprint. This has stuck in my mind since we’ve learned about it. I never gave much thought to what I posted online; I never cared if it was “appropriate” or not. Now, it’s something I constantly think about. Fights and arguments are constantly started over social media, and it’s super easy to get drawn into them. I won’t even lie, I’ve had some “e-drama” and arguments over Facebook, and now I absolutely avoid them. I want to keep my digital footprint as clean and classy as possible, so I am super cautious of what I post now.

Being a business student, owning my own business will always be an option for me. After taking this course, I realize now how important social media is to the business world. Also, many social media networks are free to join! If you use your social media appropriately and effectively, this basically means free marketing! You can easily build your own brand today on tools such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram; and conveniently, they’re all free.

After taking this course, my opinion on social media has been much more positive. I always figured online communities were pretty negative, and I now know how to avoid that. I personally enjoyed this course and learned quite a bit. I have taken many things from SMET, such as the digital footprint and how to effectively and appropriately build my own brand. I’ve already used some of the new tools and advice that I’ve learned in this class and I will continue to use them in the future.

Leave a Reply

